The pain of editing

Editing is painful. No, not that sort of pain.

Not the one where you doubt yourself.

Not the one where you keep saying, ‘Did I really write that? ‘

Most writers I know go from one extreme to the other. One day, you think, hey, this is great, I love that bit.

The next you belittle yourself and tell everybody who will listen it’s rubbish.

I’m not talking about that pain though.

Call me hypersensitive, I know I am but why is it that as I go through this novel one last time I’m still crying.

I know how it ends, right?

That hasn’t changed. So, why oh why…

I used to think I was barking mad. I’m told I’m not, just sensitive and creative. I’ll go for that.

Leave a Reply

