A digital break

Do you feel overwhelmed sometimes? I do, often. 
Don't get me wrong, I love social media and the doors it has opened up for me.
New friends, new connections, opportunities, ideas you wouldn't have thought of
otherwise. 
The downside is sometimes it's too much information, and you can only have so much empathy
before it destroys you. This is when I know I have to step away, when I just can't take it anymore.
Then, of course, you also have the wrong information, the people who are not so nice.
Well, just like in real life really! You need to be able to wade through the bits of information
and be able to see others for who they are.
I stand well clear of digital spats, I have no desire to be involved of that. I cannot be witness to
bullying or ego wars.
Recently I've really taken to Pinterest, I love creating mood boards on there, mainly for my novels.
Pinning beautiful pictures and great quotes is very addictive.
You can check out the mood board I created for my Paris novel here,
http://pinterest.com/elleamberley/lost-in-your-time-in-paris/ 

I wasn't going to write a post today but was inspired by my lovely new friend, Cate Russel-Cole's
post. Check it out http://cateartios.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/overload-revisited/
So thanks for distracting me Cate, only kidding, after all writing is writing. 

So, how do you feel about social media and all things digital?
Do you feel sucked under or have you found the right balance?

I did wonder what it said about me when a few days ago I learned about 
Whitney Houston's death via Pinterest. Or rather I suspected it, someone had posted
a picture of her with 'We'll miss you'.
It was very early in the morning and I blinked, wondering for a moment if it was 
yet another sick joke like the ones I've so often seen on Twitter.

Related articles
Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

