Meet Lisette Brodey / Molly Hacker is too picky

Welcome to my lovely friend Lisette Brodey! The latest author to author interview

What inspires you the most when writing?

 People. Quirky, irrational, sane, insane, complicated, funny, think-they’re funny-but-aren’t, angry, silly, strange, unusual, sad, happy, delusional, compassionate, heartless, mixed-up people. I love taking interesting, multidimensional people and putting them in relatable life situations. Once I lay the groundwork, the characters help me big time by carrying on with their lives, often relegating me to the role of transcriptionist, as I sit back and record what I “see” and “hear.”

First person or third person?

 That totally depends on the book. My first-written novel, Squalor, New Mexico, is a coming-of-age story shrouded in family mystery. It’s told by the main character, Darla McKendrick, as she looks back upon her life (from age 9 to 16), in 1970s East Coast suburbia. (That’s right, the story has nothing to do with New Mexico!) First person was the only voice that made sense to tell this story.

 My second-written novel, Crooked Moon, a story of friendship, betrayal, forgiveness, and secrets, is written in the third person. My just-published novel, Molly Hacker Is Too Picky! is a story that just had to be told by quirky, overanalytical, picky Molly.

 So, all that said, my answer is twofold. I believe that a novel should be written as it can best be told, and while I have written two out of three novels in the first person, I actually prefer third person. Get all that?

 Have you ever considered packing it in?

 I can say that I have felt like doing that many times. Have I seriously considered doing that? Probably not. I have always been a writer and stripping myself of that identity would just be too strange. And wrong. Writing is the absolute easiest part of being an author. Promoting oneself, finding an audience, and having to be out there in some form all the time can be exhausting or exhilarating, rewarding or depressing.

 

Present vs. past tense? Love it, hate it?

 I absolutely hate it! LOL! I have put many books down because the use of the present tense was just too jarring for me. However, I have read other books where the writing was done so well it didn’t bother me. But I really do not like it. I would never write in the present tense. I just find it weird that characters are actually doing things as I am reading about them; strangely unnerving. Is it me?

 I often write amidst chaos. What about you? Absolute peace or hustle and bustle?

 Peace and quiet. When I am truly composing, I don’t like any noise at all. As for chaos, although I don’t write in it, I’d have to say that some of my best ideas have sprung from it. And then I wait until all is quiet to write about it.

Thanks so much for having me as your guest, Elle. Great questions. It’s been a delight.

Always my pleasure, Lisette

www.mollyhacker.com

www.facebook.com/BrodeyAuthor

https://twitter.com/#!/lisettebrodey

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2774659.Lisette_Brodey

 

            

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Meet Lisette Brodey / Molly Hacker is too picky

  1. Thank you Elle,

    I thoroughly enjoyed your interview with, Lisette Brodey. Having read all of Lisette’s novels, she has quickly become one of my – all time – favourite writers.

    I wish you both great success with your writing.

    Thanks again, Stuart

  2. Thanks Elle,

    Lisette Brodey’s talent for Character writing, storytelling and thought provoking situations has brought me back to reading novels again. I have a great deal to thank her for. 🙂

    Wishing you both all the VERY best of success with your work and looking forward to Novel no. 4
    😀

  3. Regarding person and tense: I used to hate first-person novels because I felt the perspective was so limited. But I discovered later, when I read Josh Bazell’s “Beat the Reaper,” which is written in first person present, that a strong, interesting protagonist is what it takes to make it work. I loved that book so much I read it twice.

    But not all main characters are capable of a compelling first-person narrative, especially if they’re shy or reticent. Unless the character is an extrovert, you spend the whole novel locked in the claustrophobia of their head. Their fears and self-doubts are reduced to whining.

    Regarding the present tense, it’s not appropriate for most fiction, especially literature. What it’s good at is establishing a neo-noir tone, especially useful for mysteries and thrillers. That’s just my two cents!

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

