Author to Author with Jae De Wylde

 

Interview with Jae De Wylde, author of The Thinking Tank

I met Jae through my publisher, she’s a very friendly lady and talented writer. I’m thrilled to ask her a few questions for my blog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Any writing quirks? 

Oh my goodness – so many. I guess the most annoying one – and irritating for my husband, is that I have to have the whole house clean and tidy in order to be able to settle to writing – bonkers, hey? But if there is something that needs to be done on the domestic front, I just cannot concentrate until it’s sorted. However, the upshot of this is that my house sparkles the whole time that I am immersed in a novel!

Where do you most like to write? 

I have an old chaise longue that has migrated from house to house and room to room – but wherever it is, that’s where I like to write. I do also enjoy writing in coffee shops though. I spent lots of time in a well-known brand place in Town Centre Dubai when we lived over there – they were so lovely to me.

How much does real life inspire or shape your writing? 

I have had quite a lot of life’s so-called T-shirts. I think you bring your thoughts, feelings, and senses to your work, as well as familiar places – but keep it rooted firmly in fiction. Real life would be in danger of being far too pedestrian told as it is. That said, The Thinking Tank was conceived when I had to spend two hours per day, five days a week in a hyperbaric oxygen tank (see my blog ‘Life’s Crappy Stuff’ for details).

Are you a disciplined writer? Do you make yourself sit down every day or do you write in bursts? 

When I am properly in the flow I make myself write 1500 words a day, 5 days per week plus I always edit the previous day’s work. If I don’t manage my target, I make up for it at weekends and never let myself off the hook

The dreaded writer’s block, have you been struck with it or blissfully spared? 

I have been lucky to have been spared thus far. Sometimes the first 20 minutes or so of what I write just has to be scrapped – but then I get in the zone and I become very uncommunicative for a few hours!

What do you like best about writing? 

Discovering what’s going to happen next! No – seriously, I have tried planning until the very last page but in reality, the characters just take over to the extent that I can’t wait to see how it ends. Characters just develop as you go along – so what you had intended for them no longer suits their personality – it’s fascinating. There’s a huge twist in my plot, which just kind of wrote itself. Honestly!

The Thinking Tank is available from Amazon in paperback and Kindle, in all branches of Walkers and through branches of Waterstones and Waterstones.com

www.jaedewylde.com

Also available through: www.expatbookshop.com

Facebook: Jae De Wylde/ Twitter: @jaedewylde

Blog: Life’s Crappy Stuff

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bio:

Half Dutch and born between the in-and-out gates of a distillery on the borders of Wandsworth and Battersea, way before the area became chic, I loved the whole London culture vibe as I was growing up. I went to Grey Coat Hospital Girls’ Grammar School in Victoria (a real privilege – I am grateful for the experience to this day), and then on to read BA Jt Hons Modern Languages at the University of Bristol. I loved my early career as a Modern Languages (French and German) teacher, working in both the state and private sector. Writing has been in my blood for as long as I can remember. Following on from freelance journalism, my work as Editor for Travelsphere holidays was fantastic – travel is a great passion and I am blessed to have done a lot of it, and to have lived for a spell in Spain and in The Middle East. I also enjoyed editing Embrace Magazine for a couple of years – an intensely busy time, bonkers but good. Life has not all been easy. When one of the closest people to me died I thought that the world would end and it almost did. When I surfaced, I realised that it had simply changed forever, and decided to honour her memory with the passion I try to inject into everything I do. The Thinking Tank was inspired by a desire to turn life’s crappy stuff into something meaningful and enriching…our past doesn’t always have to dictate our future. I am now living in Lincolnshire with my husband and two chihuahuas.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

