Author to Author with Rochelle Melander

Welcome to Rochelle Melander, CEO of Write Now! Coach, a writing, editing, and coaching practice that she founded in 2001. Her 10th book, Write-A-Thon: Write Your Book in 26 Days (and Live to Tell About It) will be released in October 2011. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Where do you most like to write?

I write in my home office, next to a window, so I can watch the squirrels, birds and the neighbor’s cat when I have writer’s block. I live in a college neighborhood, and my office window overlooks a duplex filled with college students. Over the years, I have been treated to many more risque sights and sounds than squirrels and birds. My other very favorite place to write is at my friends’ home on Coronado Island in California. I love to look out at the lemon tree and smell the ocean as I write!

  • How much does real life inspire or shape your writing?

Tons! I am always revisiting my life experiences in my writing work. Since I mostly write nonfiction, I often use my daily experiences as a jumping off point for the writing I do. I am currently working on a novel, and I am finding that I do the same thing. I am planning to host my first Thanksgiving dinner ever in a few weeks. It just so happens, that I have given the characters in my NaNoWriMo novel the same challenge. This way, I get to look up recipes during my work time and get a double benefit out of it.

  • Plotter or pantser?

I land somewhere in the middle. I usually have an idea of the general plot line, but then I develop the specific plot turns and scenes as I write. Sometimes I stick to the original plot lines, sometimes I don’t.

  • The dreaded writer’s block, have you been struck with it or blissfully spared?

I’ve had massive bouts of writer’s block and have finally figured out that writer’s block usually means something. Here are the likely culprits: 1. I am tired. 2. The book’s structure, plot, or topic is not working. For either crisis, I take a break from writing that piece and do something else. (Take a nap, do laundry, play with kids, walk in the park.) When I come back, I am usually able to write or find a solution to the book’s problems.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As the Write Now! Coach, Rochelle Melander coaches professionals, executives, writers, business owners, and aspiring authors. Write Now! Coach Rochelle Melander values the power of writing to change the lives of writers and readers. She teaches aspiring authors how to make time to write, shape their ideas into a book or product, sell their work, and navigate social media.

 

Write Now! Coach evolved from Ms. Melander’s related careers as an author, feature writer, copywriter, editor and coach. Rochelle writes a popular Ezine, Write Now! Weekly Writing Tips, blogs regularly, and hosts the Write Now! Mastermind Class

 

Find out more:

Rochelle@writenowcoach.com

http://www.linkedin.com/in/rochellemelander

http://www.twitter.com/writenowcoach

 

www.write-a-thon.com

www.writenowcoach.com

The link to the book trailer is:  http://bit.ly/WriteathonTrailer

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

