Meet Author Trisha Ashley

An interview with lovely author Trisha Ashley.

 

 

 

 

Trisha Ashley gave up her fascinating but time-consuming hobbies of house-moving and divorce a few years ago in order to settle in North Wales. She has had many part-time jobs over the years, but her current one as a seasonal worker for the National Trust neatly combines three of her greatest interests: historic houses, gardens and meeting people. She also paints, usually in oils and occasionally watercolours.

 

 

 

 

  • Born with a pen in your hand or writing came as a shock brigade?

I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t writing. I started getting poems published in the local paper when I was eleven and wrote my first (unpublished and unpublishable) novel at eighteen. I learned to touch-type at fifteen, and made the transition from typewriter to keyboard quite easily so that’s how I now work: directly onto the computer.

  • How much does real life inspire or shape your writing?

I will often take an event that has happened to me, or that I have observed, and use it as a springboard to jump off in a different direction. Most writers play the ‘what if?’ game./ Indeed.

 

  • Your favourite social network and why? How much time do you waste, sorry, spend on social networks?

I’m always popping into Facebook or Twitter. Susan Hill said recently that it was the equivalent of meeting round the water cooler and she is quite right. Authors generally work alone, so a quick chat with a friend from time to time is very refreshing.

  • First person or third person? Present vs past tense? Love it, hate it

I love to write in first person, mostly past tense but slipping into first when she is ‘in the moment’. Only attempt a whole novel in first person present tense if you are quite sure you are as brilliant a writer as Sophie Kinsella.

For an example of how an excellent author can make the impossible seem easy, Read The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver – multiple first person viewpoints!

I also love it that I can chat directly with my readers, wherever they are in the world. Because they love my books, I already know that they have a good sense of humour and we are going to get along fine. I don’t stop and work out what I’m posting up, so you get a short, sharp burst of unadulterated and unedited Trisha, typos and all.

  • What would you like people to remember most about you?

That I was a good friend. And I like to think that my Cheshire Cat grin will be lingering in the air long after I am gone.

 

You can find me on Twitter at @trishaashley and I also have a Facebook fan page. Visit my website www.trishaashley.com to see my backlist, leave a message in my guest book, join my quarterly newsletter group or email me. You can also see me talking about books on Youtube!

And here it is:

Avon recently interviewed Trisha and quizzed her about where she finds the inspiration for all those lovely foody, snuggly, cosy things that fill her novels

http://www.youtube.com/user/AvonBooksUK?feature=mhsn#p/a/u/0/Taohm3fBRgg

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Meet Author Trisha Ashley

  1. I love Christmas themed stories at this time of year, and moving house is a hobby of mine too, we hope to complete on one later today in fact [biting nails!] I’ll certainly add this one to the TBR pile

  2. What a great interview – short but sweet!

    I’m intrigued about Trisha’s comments on typos as I always imagine the books that I read are that polished when they are delivered to the publisher. But I guess they can be really badly written too (by some authors, not you I’m sure Trisha!) and are subsequently whipped into shape by editors?

    • We do try and deliver them as polished as possible to our publishers but there are always edits to be done.
      Nathan Bransford once said he’d love to be able to correct all typos that appear on published books the same way you can do for ebooks.
      Yes, even the best books on the market have the odd typo.
      Thanks for your comment 🙂

      • In the first draft I type fast and don’t stop to correct anything, I just go with the flow. The second draft is as polished as I can make it, before sending in. Twitter and Facebook – well, time is short so I just dash them off . Lvoe me, love my typos!

  3. Pingback: Author to Author with Michelle Betham | Elle Amberley Author

Leave a Reply

