Meet Kaira Rouda

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hi Kaira,

Thanks so much for taking part.

 

  • Born with a pen in your hand or writing came as a shock brigade?

Thanks for having me here, Elle!

And to answer your first question: born with a pen in my hand. I remember as a kid having a lump on the side of my finger from pressing so hard while writing in my diaries. For a while, I thought I’d be a poet a la Emily Dickinson. That was during my early teens. Here’s the reality. Armed with an English major from college, I headed into the world and have subsequently written for just about every type of publication – newspaper, magazines –  advertising and pr agencies and businesses you can imagine. Truly. It has been a fun and blessed career, but all along, I knew I wanted to write novels.

So I kept at it. I wrote and wrote, and now, finally, my dream has come true with the publication of  HERE, HOME, HOPE the first of a series of mainstream women’s fiction books.

 

  • Where do you most like to write?

My laptop. I typically wear the writing off the keys after a year or two. Once, we had a wonderful cockatiel named Sunny Delight who liked to pluck the keys off of my laptop as I wrote. He swiped the “P” and I never did find it. The invention I’m awaiting is a laptop that is outside/sunshine friendly. Then, I’ll be in heaven.

Specifically, though, I’m happy writing almost anywhere!

Elle: I love that story, and I’d love a laptop you can use no matter how strong the sun is, my idea of bliss too.

 

  • How much does real life inspire or shape your writing?

My stories are very much a product of my setting – my environment. You’ll find a lot of my sense of place through my own experiences.

 

  • Plotter or pantser?

Pantser.

  • Are you a disciplined writer? Do you make yourself sit down every day or do you write in bursts?

I’m a burster by nature. Writing fiction always has been for me a part of stolen moments. Only until the last year have I had the freedom to say I’m a writer. I’m still working out my rhythm!

 

  • Marketing, a necessary evil?

Marketing is a fact of life, no matter your business. And writing – having readers, that is – is a business. If you don’t care about readers, don’t market. I love Twitter. It’s my favorite social network. As with anything, though, one tactic for marketing – or for life – doesn’t work. It’s all about balance. Online, offline. Writing. Promoting. Living.

Thank you, Elle!!

My pleasure, Kaira. Turns out we have more in common than I thought. I’d probably describe myself as a burster too. But when it bursts, there’s no stopping me. And balance, ah yes, the fine art of juggling…balancing…

Find out more about Kaira here

Website: www.kairarouda.com

 

And follow her on Twitter: @KairaRouda

Facebook: Kaira Rouda Books

 

 

Kaira Rouda is the author of Real You Incorporated (Wiley) and created the Real Living Real Estate brand, the first national women-focused brand in real estate. She is the recipient of Best Entrepreneur of 2008 from Stevie Awards for Women in Business, and Entrepreneur magazine placed Real Living on its ”Top 50 Fastest-Growing, Women-Led Companies” list. During her twenty-year career in marketing, Kaira has received multiple ADDY, Webby, Telly, Communiator, Prism, WebAward, and W3 awards. Her debut novel Here, Home, Hope is a 2011 Winner of the Indie Excellence Award and honorable mention in the 2012 Writer’s Digest Independent Book Awards. She is a married, the mother of four, and lives in Southern California.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Meet Kaira Rouda

  1. Pingback: Author to Author with Paige Toon | Elle Amberley Author

Leave a Reply

