High Five with Rowan Coleman

Today I’m very pleased to introduce Rowan Coleman on my blog. 

Rowan Coleman grew up in Hertfordshire secretly longing to be a writer despite battling with dyslexia.  After graduating from university she worked in bookselling and publishing for seven years before winning Company Magazine Young Writer of the Year in 2001.  Her first novel Growing Up Twice’ was published in 2002.

Rowan has gone on to write eight novels for women including the bestseller ‘The Accidental Mother, The Baby Group’ and The Accidental Wife‘ and eight novels for children and teens including the paranormal adventure novels Nearly Departed and Immortal Remains under the name Rook Hasting. Her books are published around the world. She now lives in Hertfordshire with her family.

She’s a lovely friend and a wonderful and prolific writer, and what’s more she did me the great honour of writing  a blurb for my own novel. How fab is that?

 

 

 

 

Born with a pen in your hand or writing came as a shock brigade? 

Born with story telling ingrained in my heart, but due to my struggle with dyslexia the pen bit came much later.

How interesting, I’ve just come across an article about an author and dyslexia. What is your biggest ambition?

To still be allowed to write book in forty years time and for people to still want to read them!

That’s a good ambition to have. When did you realise you had made it as a writer?

I don’t think you ever reach that moment, not me anyway. There have been moments that I’ve thought, oh that’s quite good actually, like seeing The Accidental Mother in the New York Times bestsellers, or getting a fan letter from Texas, but mostly I am wrought with insecurity and fear!

I know what you mean and I think it’s a common trait between writers. Have you ever switched genres, or considered doing so?

I have, I would. I write teen horror under the name Rook Hastings, and I would love to write a really dark serial horror book. I have an idea, but its maybe too horrible.

Intriguing. How much time do you waste, sorry, spend on social networks? 

Oh Elle, you know me. FAR TOO MUCH!

Lol, oh I know, it’s so easily done Rowan. We make such great contacts over the net and it’s hard to resist responding to just one more tweet or another lovely message on Facebook. So much information and we, writers are the most nosey people there are, so when an another amazing link pops up…

 

Connect with Rowan on her Twitter http://twitter.com/rowancoleman

and/or onFacebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rowan-Coleman/218459815465?ref=mf

Visit her fabulous website www.rowancoleman.co.uk

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “High Five with Rowan Coleman

  1. Hello, Elle & Rowan,

    I am delighted that I stumbled upon your blog via Facebook.

    It is always intriguing to read some back-story about authors, and why we write. I love the title of your latest book, “lessons in laughing out loud” which I am sure will be a great success.

    Thank you both,

    Stuart

Leave a Reply

