Literary vs genre writers

Interesting article in the Millions. The debate goes on, Literary writers against genre writers

Why shouldn’t writers switch genre?

I have. It’s not a calculated move. I simply like to write in different styles and on different subjects.

I totally agree with Miriam Parker and Crystal Patriarche, nicely sums up my views.

“Creative people switch genres all the time,” says Miriam Parker, Spencer’s publicist at Mulholland, who started at Grand Central and has worked with a broad spectrum of writers. Her fellow publicist Crystal Patriarche agrees. “Writers just want to write,” she says, noting that quite a few members of her primarily female client list have shifted genres during the time she’s worked with them, often combining mainstream with romance or mystery. “They evolve through stages throughout their careers.”

I’ve never fitted into a neat little box, same goes for my writing.

I invite you to read the rest of the article:

http://www.themillions.com/2011/09/why-are-so-many-literary-writers-shifting-into-genre.html

Thank you for all the kind messages regarding my health. I really appreciate your all your lovely messages.

Not back properly, still need rest and all that…

Steffi is on hand to answer any queries and manage my FB and Twitter accounts, and what a fabulous she’s done.

7 thoughts on “Literary vs genre writers

  1. I understand the need to define, but not the one to enclose. I think the best writers are the ones who can surprise you. So what, if they switch genres?
    There are enough writers on the market who write the same slosh. I don’t want to keep reading the same thing.
    Hope you feel better soon, take care.

  2. Then rest, you should do! Love that you write in different styles.
    I love your articles, full of passion.
    I love your poems, short stories (more please), your books.
    Just can’t wait to love your new novel.

  3. You’re back! How are you?
    Great post, I had no idea how writers fitted in such genres.
    I love reading different books so it’s refreshing to hear.
    Take care, hope you’re feeling better.

  4. I’m so glad you let your creativity guide you.
    Thanks to Indio Press for sending me PDF of NOWHERE LEFT to HIDE.
    I loved, loved, loved it!
    Take care, all the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

