Look at me!

Interesting post from Nathan Bransford about self-promotion.

It sucks, but we all have to do it anyway.

Yep, even he’s got to do it, and guess what he doesn’t like it so much either. I admit it, I have a really hard time when it comes to that sort of promotion.

On the other hand, I love  real communication, a proper exchange. It’s always great interacting with readers!

It’s the ‘look at me’ I struggle with.

“There’s a lot of noise out there, and sometimes you have to shout to make yourself heard. Even if you cringe the entire time you’re doing it.”

So, yes, I try. I’ve been nudged gently and a little more forcefully. I joined Facebook and realised it could be quite fun and a great way to meet like-minded and interesting people.

Sometimes a writer’s got to do what he/ she’s got to do!

So, how do you feel about it?

Want to join me on Facebook, like my page, authors need a lot of love. Thanks

http://www.facebook.com/Elle.Amberley.Author

http://blog.nathanbransford.com/2011/07/thing-about-self-promotion-is-that-self.html

So, I’d like to say to everybody reading me, a big welcome and thank you!

10 thoughts on “Look at me!

  1. I feel for you. But you’re a great author, you write beautiful stories. You touch people.
    Giving you a big SHOUTOUT!

  2. I’m an unpublished author working on my first book (or rather the first proper one after the first disastrous one you hide under your bed and never show anyone). I started talking about it on my blog in an effort to put myself out there and do a bit of self-promotion. I was unsure about it all and it felt a bit odd shouting about a book that I’ve not yet finished, but since I posted a couple of scenes on my blog I had a publisher get in touch out of the blue and ask to see the whole manuscript when it’s done. So it is worth it, the putting yourself out there stuff. It still feels a bit odd though.

    • That’s fab, well done!
      I know how odd it feels. I cringe whenever I get a interview request. I’ve hidden for years as I’m quite shy.
      But the world hasn’t collapsed since my coming out LOL.
      Going on FB was a big deal for me but actually it’s great.
      So, here we go. New pen name and a bit more daring.
      Best wishes Heather:)

  3. Don’t worry about it, that’s the way it is. Of course you should promote yourself, you’ve got talent.
    I’ve never seen you blowing your trumpet. Very little ‘look at me’ from you 🙂

  4. You’re the nicest person I know on social media, supportive and friendly.
    You’ve got bragging rights, my dear, yet, you don’t use them.
    Take care and try not to let it get to you, be proud of what you do!

  5. Hi Elle, great post.
    The eternal conundrum. If you don’t promote, how are people going to find your books? That’s what my agent said too.
    Mind you, I had no problems finding you:)

  6. Interesting. I don’t see why you shouldn’t promote yourself either.
    After all have there are a lot of people saying ‘look at me’ and what have they done?
    So a big SHOUTOUT from me too, SO deserved.

Leave a Reply

