Express yourself

Writing, blogging and … marketing?

Until recently I never saw my blog as part of a marketing process. Shock Horror!  I created a blog to express myself, because I love writing. Then my editor said, ‘Why aren’t you doing this and …’ Blah Blah Blah

I’ve always written posts because I wanted to, I’m very reactive and instinctive. I see something in the news and bang, I just have to add my piece. I love writing about everything and anything.

Which identity should you wear as a blogger?

Your own, of course. I stay true to myself and form my own opinions. Society likes to fit us into neat little boxes, I like to merge in between. I don’t belong to cliques.

So, I am a Mummy blogger, I do blog about parenting and my kids, some of the time. I react to news and events, especially those concerning women. I write about life as it twists over time, and of course, I am an author so I blog about writing, and books.

Is that wrong? Will I stop?

I also blog on Women on the Verge, where I feel free to express any views I like. I suppose I went through a phase where I felt restricted on my own blog as various people said maybe I shouldn’t be so outspoken, that I should see my blog as a way to market myself. Two words I struggle with. Yes, I know… I know…

That’s not me, so I went quiet for a bit. I’m crazy busy as it is, so I do tend to have seemingly quiet moments. I also have my private moments, when I need to retreat for a while.

So, I hope you enjoy reading my ramblings. Lovely to read your comments, thank you for your time.

Why have a blog if we cannot express ourselves?

This post was inspired by reading Kirsten Lamb’s post:

http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/more-sacred-cow-tipping-common-blogging-misconceptions/

PS I’m not a Madonna fan, just one of these crazy people who has a song bursting in their heads in response to anything.

13 thoughts on “Express yourself

  1. Ouch! No seriously, I love your blog and you can express yourself as much as you like.
    Just add a little more about yourself as the writer and your new book. A little self-promotion wouldn’t hurt.
    Great post from an uncompromising lady, she thinks outside the box.

  2. You write great posts and fabulous books. You entertain and sometimes push us to think a little deeper. I love that.

  3. I think you’re absolutely right to express yourself howsoever you wish! After all, this kind marketing is all about connecting with people and how refreshingly honest to read ab out someone who is not afraid to let herself shine through.

  4. How refreshing to read a blog that is not promotion-first!

    You seem to be asking all the right questions and have the right answer. I like what Pat says above about connecting with people and allowing yourself to shine through. It’s authenticity that keeps people returning to a blog.

  5. I think this is one of the most significant info for me. And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

