Bin Laden dead, is that the end?

Will there ever be an end to this hatred?

I do not understand all the celebrations taking place in the US, the jubilation. 

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/crowds-gather-in-us-cities-after-bin-laden-killed-2277848.html

Has ‘justice’ really been done? And how can anyone celebrate a person being killed? 

Wouldn’t a quiet gathering to remember all the victims be more respectful? Is there really cause for jubilation?

Terrible things have happened. I remember that September day vividly, listening to the news, unable to comprehend. 

Nobody knows how to solve such a tragedy, one that is far from being over. His death will make him a martyr. There is no right and wrong. The ‘problem’ will not go away with his death.

What will happen now? More attacks, more hatred. That we can be sure of.


“Please let them celebrate, they are celebrating their own end,” said Abu Aziza on the Islamic Awakening forum. “Oh Allah destroy this nation for their hatred and enmity toward your deen (religion).”

I’m writing this, chilled to the bone. How do you explain all this to young children. What legacy are leaving for them?
What happens next?
This is not a time for jubilation, but for reflection.
  •  “I’ve never wished a man dead, but I have read some obituaries with great pleasure.” –Mark Twain
Well, I wouldn’t say pleasure but I certainly will not miss him and all that he represents.

  • Boris Vian wrote a book called ‘J’irai cracher sur vos tombes”, which means I will spit on your graves.
I think it’s time to move on from all the hatred and learn from all the mistakes.

“I mourn the loss of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy.” – 

I saw that quote on the internet like many, attributed to Martin Luther King. Some say it was a rehash of one of his speeches…
Whether it is or not, it reflects my feelings.
12 thoughts on “Bin Laden dead, is that the end?

  1. Someone who can speak sense. Disgusted by some comments on Twitter. People joke, ask to see the body…
    What is wrong with people?

  2. After the surprise when I read the news came the questions.
    Jubilation? shaking my head.
    I don’t understand some of the reactions either. Glad to read your post to restore my faith in humanity.

  3. Just come from the womenontheverge website. Great post.
    It made me think and I can see the other side of the argument.
    Unfortunately as you said people have been celebarting a bit too soon and this could have been done more tastefully.

  4. Well said. The celebrations bother me. It rings a little too much of exactly what the terrorists do every time they blow something up and kill a bunch of us ‘infidels.’

    I worry too what will happen next. Scary stuff.

    Angela @ The Bookshelf Muse

    • Thank you. Yes, I didn’t think it was very civilised. I hope it brings closure to the victims. I thought it was disrespectful for them.

  5. Thanks for popping in on my blog and it’s refreshing to find that there are so many more people concerned about the direction of things. You even had (part of) my misquoted quote. Too strong to say great minds think alike? I think not.
    Aloha
    Toby

    • Indeed, I felt very alone on that morning. It even occurred to me I might get nasty comments but I felt I needed to say it.
      We need to have the courage to express our opinions even if they seem to go against the majority.
      I’m glad though to see that when it was out in the open many people agreed with our feelings.

  6. Same feelings here (I live in FL, and I would say that I am in the minority for feeling that way).

    Life is precious, no matter what kind of person possessed it. Relief over the fact that this man isn’t orchestrating the taking of other lives, yes. But rejoicing over his death, no.

Leave a Reply

