Why write?

A wonderful quote borrowed from agent Rachelle  Gardner’s blog.

http://cba-ramblings.blogspot.com/

“Writing makes a person very vulnerable. It opens you to public criticism, to ridicule, to rejection. But it also opens conversation and thought. It stirs minds, and touches hearts. It brings us into contact with our souls. So how can it possibly be a waste of time, an idle act, a mistake, a betrayal of truth? Who can possibly tell us not to do it?”

~Joan Chittister, Order of Saint Benedict

Perfectly said, don’t you think?


13 thoughts on “Why write?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Why write? | Elleonthego's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. We don’t think about that when we’re reading books, it’s the same with mucsic. Through your posts I’ve become aware of all the emotions that are involved in the process, especially when you said about crying and laughing along the way with your characters. Powerful stuff.

  3. I love the quote, and the picture. Writing does make me vulnerable, but I’m actually more vulnerable when I don’t – because when I don’t, I don’t know where my center went.

    Yes, we are almost ready for Christmas. I always THINK I’m ready, and end up crazed on the 23rd and 24th…part of the fun, I suppose!! Happiest holidays to you!

  4. Gosh i’ve been writing on this very subject a bit lately. My favourite quote of the moment is:

    “There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein. (Walter Wellesley “Red” Smith).

    People seem to find it difficult to get that writing comes from the heart, the soul, though they find it easy to see that of painting or music.

    M2M

Leave a Reply

