Why I love Thanksgiving

Ok, so I’m not American and I don’t even live in America, so what do I know?

A few years ago I was lucky enough to spend some time in California. I was still very young and it as at a time when I was still vulnerable, trying to overcome a difficult period in my life.

I was made very welcome in America and it was not just because of the “cute British accent.” It took me a while to shed some of the layers I had wrapped around me. I made fabulous friendships there, ones I still treasure today. I met people who cared enough to take down my barriers. Away from all the trauma I had encountered, I felt free for the first time in my life, free to be me.

When Thanksgiving came round the corner, I received many invitations. I spent it with my boyfriend’s family and it was a wonderful experience. I saw and experienced people coming together, happy to be reunited, neighbours, friends and family were all truly welcome .

I hear all the cynics saying how they dread spending time over the holidays. I’ve been there, if you had known my family, you would know those were not happy times. That first Thanksgiving however made me realise that it doesn’t have to be like that, that there are people who care and love each other unconditionally.

These days I have my own family, for which I am truly thankful, I have my own two little miracles and I survived against all odds. One of these very special who I shared my first Thanksgiving with will be with us tomorrow. We all have  stereotypes imprinted in us, I try to ignore these as much as I can. There is good and bad everywhere, perfection doesn’t exist but we can all do our best to make our world a better place.

Happy Thanksgiving!


24 thoughts on “Why I love Thanksgiving

  1. Awesome, what a moving story and yes I’m a sucker for British accents Lol.
    Best Thanksgiving post I’ve read, Thank You!

  2. I like your thoughts about Thanksgiving and how by bringing friends, family and new acquaintances together we can enrich our lives. Several years ago we had a friend from the UK staying with us and that’s how she met her future husband.

    I just blogged about 12 things for which to give thanks that most people may not have considered . . . and which are possible for just about all of us. You and your readers my find it of interest. Just visit: http://findfulfillflourish.wordpress.com/

    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Steve

  3. Pingback: Why I love Thanksgiving (via Elleonthego’s Blog) « Abrokenheartonthemend's Blog

  4. Pingback: I Am Thankful | WhoHeals.com

    • Thank you. I don’t live in the U.S. but I am a frequent visitor. I lived in California for a while and have still many friends there. Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Vos commentaires au sujet de Thanksgiving étaient très belles. Je vous remercie. Je suis désolé que mon français est si mauvais. Cordialement, John

  6. hello I was fortunate to come cross your topic in bing
    your topic is splendid
    I obtain a lot in your Topics really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really marvelous
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

