Photoshop in schools?

Seen in the New York Times:

The practice of altering photos, long a standard in the world of glossy magazines and fashion shoots, has trickled down to the wholesome domain of the school portrait. Parents who once had only to choose how many wallet-size and 5-by-7 copies they wanted are now being offered options like erasing scars, moles, acne and braces, whitening teeth or turning a bad hair day into a good one.

Say what?

But parents who choose to edit also run the risk of “potentially validating the concerns that it is not O.K. to be that way,” Dr. Peterson said.

No kidding!

Read the article here:

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/20/nyregion/20retouch.html?_r=1&hp=&adxnnl=1&adxnnlx=1290265347-jnDk4/ZNl4PbcfIrU9sCxQ

In response to one of the comment on Mummy Bloggers discussion:

Wouldn’t children who have their photos retouched be more prone to teasing? Everybody in their class would know that’s not how they look like, I think it would give more power to potential bullies. As teenagers, let them make that decision, but photoshopping is not going to change the way they look in real life.

8 thoughts on “Photoshop in schools?

  1. As a parent, I have chosen (and will continue to choose) no altering of my children’s school pictures. I like to think of a photograph as capturing a moment in time – a real, honest moment in time. If one chooses to alter it, then the record of the memory (the photo) is not an accurate account of that moment.
    The memories that come flooding back when I see a picture from my past are priceless, and I want them unadulterated. Remembering that my child took an elbow in basketball the day before pictures were made (resulting in the shiner so proudly displayed the next day) is a reminder of something that actually happened. Noticing the braces (resulting from years of thumb-sucking) on my child’s face is a reminder of those innocent days of their toddlerhood. Every bit of that happened, and deserves to be documented faithfully.
    I want history, accurately preserved. Not a manufactured reality that robs authentic life – everyday, honest-to-goodness LIVING – from past life experiences.

  2. I agree that photo alteration can be ridiculous, although I certainly would have been thrilled with the option of erasing my acne from my middle-high school pictures. No amount of self-esteem makes me okay with looking at them. Especially the one in the high school year book where you can see my bra. I really would have loved some alteration for THAT.

    • Yes I can appreciate that. I guess we’ve all had times where we wish we had an erase button but if you start giving this sort of idea to very young ideas, how will they be able to look in the mirror a few years later when they do get acne and the likes. Thank you for comment.

Leave a Reply

