Coeliac disease is no joke!

I’m coeliac, that means I have to be really careful with my diet, especially since I have other health problems.I can’t eat anything that contains gluten.

I was diagnosed a few years ago, after many tests and procedures.Coeliacs tend to go undiagnosed for many years.

There is more awareness these days and a lot more products available.It is extremely rare though to find a bakery or coffee shop that caters for coeliacs.

Trouble is, with all the food fads around, some people think it’s just that, another fad.Unfortunately, it isn’t the case and can cause great damage to your intestines.

Often, you’ll hear ‘what do you mean, you can’t eat bread?!”, “oh,you’re on a diet !”

Others pity me and wonder what I eat.

Well, I do have to be organised.I always take fruit with me, in case I get hungry and if I’m going to be gone for a long time I take my supplies with me.It also means, I’m forever eating as the food I can eat is quickly digested.

There are many products for coeliacs, some nicer than others.On the whole, I tend not to bother, I’m not so keen on the way they taste and furthermore, these gluten-free products are heavily processed and don’t feel natural to me.

So, I’m ok with it, it doesn’t particularly bothers me.Just please don’t get offended when I can’t eat something you’ve prepared or bought.

I appreciate the thought, but no, thank you.

Adopting a gluten-free diet deserves careful consideration

http://www.thenational.ae/lifestyle/at-home/well-being/adopting-a-gluten-free-diet-deserves-careful-consideration

For some, cutting out gluten is not a choice or a fad diet. For people who have been diagnosed with coeliac disease, an autoimmune condition where the body has a severe reaction to gluten, causing damage to the small intestine and reduced absorption of vitamins and minerals, avoiding it is a necessity. According to Coeliac UK, symptoms of the disease, which is estimated to affect about one percent of the population, include weight loss, abdominal pain, diarrhea, anaemia, migraines, joint pain and fatigue. Despite the common misconception that coeliac disease is often diagnosed in early childhood, a recent Canadian study found the average age for diagnosis in adults to be 46. Unfortunately, statistics show that many people with coeliac disease don’t know they have it, and as few as one in eight people with the disease have been properly diagnosed. According to the Canadian Celiac Association, strict adherence to a gluten-free diet is the only treatment for coeliac disease and is essential to reduce the risk of further health complications associated with the disease, including osteoporosis, depression, infertility and certain cancers.

5 thoughts on “Coeliac disease is no joke!

  1. So many fads, people forget that some like you have genuine problems and might not be considered seriously because of all the others who play with their diets.

    • It can be a bit annoying if people presume you’re avoiding foods because you’re following the latest trend, especially when you have life-threatening allergies.

  2. how are you I was fortunate to seek your topic in wordpress
    your post is superb
    I get a lot in your subject really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you website is really outstanding
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

