Staying at home with the kids

A post in response to my friend Peryl’s post :

” There are a lot of people – politicos, authors, strangers at Starbucks, my mother, to name a few – who question the absolute value of the work of a stay-at-home mother.

Linda Hirshman, Author of Get to work: A Manifesto for Women of the World famously said: “women who quit their jobs to stay home with their children [are] making a mistake….the tasks of housekeeping and child rearing [are] not worthy of the full time and talents of intelligent and educated human beings. “

My take on the matter :

It’s a personal choice.
What about just enjoying your children, they grow up so quickly!
I find being with my children fulfilling, they are so inquisitive and full of life, so enthusiastic!
I suppose a lot of it depends what you do with your time.
Personally I feel so overstimulated, I fear for my brain.
Maybe that explains the encephalitis I had last week.
I stay at home, well,  in between all the travelling that is.
Now where am I again ?
Oh yes, back in Paris, for now..
I’m proud to say I look after my children, I home-educate them (they are bilingual).We’re always busy busy busy.
Somehow in the midst of all that I write. I’ve got 2 books on the go, one in english and the other one in french.
Whatever  possessed me to start writing in french ?!
So there you are, I ‘m probably a bit mad and a bit too creative.
Let’s enjoy our Mummy time while it lasts.You can never experience these early years again.

P.S. Don’t forget to read my friend’s blog, it’s a brilliant read and she often makes me laugh.

You might also like :



5 thoughts on “Staying at home with the kids

  1. Elle, I’m with you on this one. I’m a work at home mum – writing for my business, other writing, blog writing and selling Avon. I do that in between looking after my two children (6 and 8). I love the fact that I can be there for school shows, to pick them up when they’re full of news or need a hug, and able to enjoy the difference in them each day. I know I’m incredibly lucky that I can have this time with them.

    I work incredibly hard at finding the time to run two businesses and keep our family and home working. My brain is strained to capacity with these tasks and the constant learning and research required for my writing business. For Ms Hirshman to say that I have no intellectual challenges is rather a slap in the face. By nature, I love to learn new things and my lifestyle throws learning at me in abundance.

    Maybe it’s time that people such as Ms H realise that life isn’t so black and white.We’re individuals, grown women who can decide for ourselves what suits and fulfills us.

    • I get so annoyed with all these people who think they know better than everybody else. We are all different indeed and are quite capable to make our own choices without being belittled by these so-called experts.
      Thank you so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

