Coming from some place

  • Where  do you come from ?
  • Does it define you ?
  • What if you were born there by accident ?
  • What if you ‘d never actually lived there ?
  • What if that place has some hurtful connection ?

Why do people put so much importance on where you were born ?

Where do you come from? Oh, but where were you born ?

I was born in some place, it is not where I come from !

It does not define , should not define me !

I was only a baby who came into this world too early, by accident

This place, forever associated with me, because it appears on all my documents.

So don’t change your perception of me once you learn where I come from, because you’d be wrong and I’m so tired of having to justify myself, my roots or my nationality !

So think about it next time you harass some poor soul…but where do you come from…really …?

related post :

https://elleamberley.wordpress.com/2010/03/03/the-expat-childor-is-the-grass-really-greener/


6 thoughts on “Coming from some place

  1. My parents have grown especially sour at the prospect of facing these rather rude questions at their favorite restaurants, which they’ve been patronizing for years, only because there is a new waiter.
    I always watch the change in people, and in how they treat me, when they realize they’re hearing an accent in my words. The realization they mistakenly thought I was one of them…

  2. Sad really to think some people put so much emphasis on such a small detail.
    It seems to be particularly bad in Britain from what I hear.
    You can come from one country but have been born abroad, it happens.
    I’m half -swedish, half-french, born in Italy, raised in France. I speak perfect french but I’m constantly referred to “little swedish”.
    Both countries are part of my heritage !

  3. Pingback: The expat child,or is the grass really greener… « Elleonthego's Blog

Leave a Reply

