Jean-Paul Sartre

  • Man is condemned to be free; because once thrown into the world, he is responsible for everything he does.
  • Politics is a science. You can demonstrate that you are right and that others are wrong.
  • We do not know what we want and yet we are responsible for what we are – that is the fact.
  • All that I know about my life, it seems, I have learned in books.
  • Freedom is what you do with what’s been done to you.
  • I do not believe in God; his existence has been disproved by Science. But in the concentration camp, I learned to believe in men.
  • If you are lonely when you’re alone, you are in bad company.
  • Life begins on the other side of despair.
  • We must act out passion before we can feel it.

. . .


3 thoughts on “Jean-Paul Sartre

  1. Great quotations carefully chosen, thank you for posting them on your blog, I’d been reading them on your Twitter.

  2. I remember becoming acquainted with Satre at university, my first taste of that amazing intellect was Existentialism and Humanism – I never recovered!

    Thanks Elle, hope you’re well…
    Dx

Leave a Reply

