Coeliac, is that real?

I’m coeliac, that means I have to be really careful with my diet, especially since I have other health problems.I can’t eat anything that contains gluten.

I was diagnosed a few years ago, after many tests and procedures.Coeliacs tend to go undiagnosed for many years.

There is more awareness these days and a lot more products available.It is extremely rare though to find a bakery or coffee shop that caters for coeliacs.

Trouble is, with all the food fads around, some people think it’s just that, another fad.Unfortunately, it isn’t the case and can cause great damage to your intestines.

Often, you’ll hear ‘what do you mean, you can’t eat bread?!”, “oh,you’re on a diet !”

Others pity me and wonder what I eat.

Well, I do have to be organised.I always take fruit with me, in case I get hungry and if I’m going to be gone for a long time I take my supplies with me.It also means, I’m forever eating as the food I can eat is quickly digested.

There are many products for coeliacs, some nicer than others.On the whole, I tend not to bother, I’m not so keen on the way they taste and furthermore, these gluten-free products are heavily processed and don’t feel natural to me.

So, I’m ok with it, it doesn’t particularly bothers me.Just please don’t get offended when I can’t eat something you’ve prepared or bought.

I appreciate the thought, but no, thank you.

6 thoughts on “Coeliac, is that real?

  1. I have a good friend with this condition – I know how difficult it can be! We’re in Seattle, which I think is a pretty good place to be – there are even some gluten free menus at restaurants.

    Great blog, look forward to reading more :).

    Peryl (MBC Bloggy friends)

    • Thank you!
      Gosh,I can’t imagine going to a gluten free restaurant,that would be amazing!
      I nearly lived in seattle a few years ago,ended up in California,that was pretty cool too but I hear Seattle is even cooler.

  2. I am wheat/gluten intolerant and found it a struggle initially, food products have come a long way since I found out, but you’re right although the selection has grown, the food itself is not amazing. I’m hoping that in the years to come a michelin starred chef will be diagnosed or someone like jamie oliver will make it his life’s work to make amazing food for us 😉

  3. I just saw that the Pace salsa I bought for dinner tonight is gluten free!

    A few years ago it was suspected I have celiac and I went through h*** trying to find gluten free foods!

    Now my market (Meijer) had a gluten free section. I hear Trader Joe’s tags the shelves of their gluten free products with bright pink.

    I’m avoiding re-visiting the whole gluten-free question because I don’t want the hassle. Maybe you can inspire me!

    • Well that rather depends on whether you are coeliac or not.If you are, eating gluten makes you very ill, so you have no choice but to avoid offending foods.
      I had a colonoscopy and they took a biopsy, it’s no laughing matter.I’ve seen what my bowels looked at the time, it wasn’t pretty!

Leave a Reply

