Food, or cute little animals…

As we were eating dinner yesterday, I happened to tease my daughter mercilessly, couldn’t help it.I know, slap on the wrist, bad Mummy!

I don’t eat meat and I rarely cook it, maybe 3 times a year, if that.My children are used to it, they also have a choice whether they do eat  meat or not.They do eat fish though and they ‘ve learnt where their food comes from.

On this occasion though, I cooked gammon.My daughter kept saying how nice it was, so much so that I “jokingly” reminded her that “lovely meat” had been a little pig not so long ago.

Of course, other people joined in, my daughter played the drama queen and thus more teasing ensued.It was so hilarious, my ribs are still hurting.I know…

Anyway, she did enjoy her meal, even though she was a little uncomfortable with the concept of animals raised and slaughtered for our consumption.

There have been times when I thought she was very close to becoming a vegetarian.Still, that’s up to her to decide.For now, I’m just glad she eats sensibly and is healthy.

PS No “bunnies” were harmed or traumatised, just a little bit of harmless fun.

https://elleamberley.wordpress.com/2010/03/15/french-and-vegetarians/

5 thoughts on “Food, or cute little animals…

  1. I’m glad you’re being honest with your daughter about what “meat” really is, and that she has the compassion and intellect to be bothered by the truth. I don’t have children, but I imagine this is a very difficult subject for parents, whether they do or don’t eat animals. When a child learns that humans kill animals for food, the child has been changed forever.

  2. Love the bunnies bit too!

    Diet is such a tricky thing,especially with children.
    I think it’s a shame some people get so touchy about it,like what defines a vegetarian.

    I think you can be a vegetarian most of the time and sometimes eat fish.
    After all if you’re a pescatarian,it doesn’t mean you only eat fish.

    As you’ve said in previous posts,nobody is perfect.

    Love your blog!

  3. Funny, we’re going through this realisation that the meat we eat comes from animals at the moment too. But my lovely boy seems to think it’s fun to wind up our 4 year old. She now thinks burgers are made from horses and the only reason we don’t eat swans is because their necks are too long. Not so helpful.

Leave a Reply

