Second edition

So many disappointments
And then finally
The odd feeling
Once experienced
Never forgotten
I was so ill again
Straight back into hospital
The doctors saying you wouldn’t make it
That I would not survive
So stubborn, I refused to listen

Your dramatic appearance
I saw my life flash in front of me
Thinking of your big sister
You who needed me
I came to, said you were coming
Too late for the big intervention
You just shot out
And then the silence, dreadful
I watched in despair
Could only see your little bottom

I can still picture it today
Then finally, you breathed
And I heard you for the first time
I was crying hysterically
Like your sister
You were already named
It suited you
I’d seen you on a screen so many times
Holding you in my arms
My sweet little boy

2 thoughts on “Second edition

  1. Pingback: Time…the greatest healer ? « Elleonthego's Blog

Leave a Reply

