So much toss about motherhood!

Most of us choose to become mothers, as such we have a responsibility and duty to our children.After all, they certainly didn’t have a choice and they depend on us for survival and love.

This does not mean we have to suffer our children or be slaves to them.

We live in a free society and most mothers have a choice on how they wish to raise their children.

Ok, so, I’m a non-conformist.I do not bow down to so-called gurus who always know better and I can’t stand stereotypes.

There is no such thing as the perfect mother, why should there be? Is anybody perfect?!

My previous posts on motherhood have been all about choices and tolerance.

I didn’t choose to breastfeed.I was the first of my friends to be pregnant and had no preconceived ideas.
Yet, for whatever reason, as soon as I got pregnant, I knew I wanted to breastfeed, it seemed obvious to me.

Breastfeeding wasn’t easy, I was very weak after very difficult and life-threatening pregnancies.I was even advised to bottle-feed.I had mastitis several times,not fun!

Yet, I never felt I was a slave to my babies.I enjoyed the special bond I’ve got with them.

We are all different.I’m not criticizing anybody’s choices or circumstances but I  will not stand a so-called feminist belittling mothers who do breastfeed and make purees for their children!

For the record I did not use re-usable nappies. So?!

Mostly, I listen to my instincts.
You are the one looking after your baby, you’re the one who knows your child best.Children like mothers are all different and react differently.

Let’s embrace our differences

As long as you’re not harming your children and doing your best does it really matter how you do it! I know I don’t need a book or some ill-thinking person to tell me how to look after my children.
I love my children immensely, they’re happy and well-balanced and that’s what really matters!

Related posts:

https://elleamberley.wordpress.com/2010/03/22/motherhood-a-form-of-oppression/

https://elleamberley.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/e-badinter-and-her-distorted-views-on-women-and-feminism/

https://elleamberley.wordpress.com/2010/03/16/mother-love/

11 thoughts on “So much toss about motherhood!

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  2. I think maybe I should read this everyday in the hope I can make it my way of thinking too. My daughter is clearly happy and healthy and I should stop worrying so much what other people think of my parenting. Thank you. x

  3. I totally agree! I jut use my instincts and cannot be bothered to be a slave to parenting books and societies expectations. Parenting is hard enough without putting added pressure on yourself. Great post, brilliant!

  4. Pingback: Staying at home with the kids « Elleonthego's Blog

  5. Pingback: Extreme breastfeeding in novels (via blue milk) | writerconnect

Leave a Reply

